Zhongfa Aviation University, funded by Zhejiang Province and the city of Hangzhou, is jointly established by Beihang University and Ecole Nationale de l'Aviation Civile (ENAC). The university is dedicated to multidisciplinary and innovation-oriented education as well as cutting-edge and core technology research. With the goal of becoming a world-class research university, ZFAU will stay committed to establishing a new international university model that is modern and forward-thinking. The campus of ZFAU is situated adjacent to Liangzhu Ancient City, a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage site. The picturesque campus is expected to be completed by 2023 and will provide the most conducive environment for students and staff to live and work. In the present preparatory stage, the university operates from an interim campus in the northwest of Hangzhou.


Beihang University (previously known as Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, hereinafter referred to as Beihang) was founded in 1952, originating from the merger of the aeronautical departments of Tsinghua University and seven other universities. Beihang is the first university in China to focus on aeronautical and astronautical education and research. It has been one of the key universities in China since its inception.

In 1959, Beihang excelled as one of the first 16 key universities in China, and now is one of the national key universities listed in the national projects and plans such as "Project 211", "Project 985", "Plan 2011" and "Plan 111". In 2017, Beihang was listed in the Double First-Class University Initiative, a project aiming to develop a number of world-class universities and disciplines by the end of 2050 and improve the international competitiveness of tertiary education in China. Today, Beihang has become one of the top universities in China and a world-renowned comprehensive and research-oriented university.

Beihang has 8 first-level national key disciplines, 28 second-level national key disciplines, 10 Beijing key disciplines, and 10 national defense characteristic disciplines.

In the recent national university discipline evaluation, 14 disciplines at Beihang University have been listed as Class A disciplines (first-class disciplines), among which aerospace science and technology, instrument science and technology, materials science and engineering, and software engineering are Class A+ disciplines (top disciplines).

Aerospace engineering at Beihang University ranked first in the 2021 Global Ranking of Academic Subjects. After 70 years of development, Beihang now has 11 discipline categories: science, engineering, liberal art, management, medicine, law, economics, philosophy, education, art, and interdisciplinary disciplines. Six disciplines, including engineering, material science, physics, computer science, chemistry, and social sciences, are listed among the world’s top 1% in the ESI rankings, and engineering and material science are ranked in the world’s top 1‰.

Beihang has 2,368 full-time faculty members. Among them, 26 are members of either the Chinese Academy of Sciences or the Chinese Academy of Engineering, 31 chief scientists of the Program 973, 67 professors of Chang Jiang Scholars Program, 64 winners of the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars, 18 Young Chang Jiang Scholars and 64 winners of the Excellent Young Scientists Fund. In addition, numerous national first prize winners, field experts, and chief designers of Chinese aerospace programs have emerged in the talent team and a large number of young, promising, and accomplished experts and scholars.

Beihang now has a total enrollment of 36,664 full-time students, including 16,353 undergraduate students, 14,382 postgraduate students, 5,929 Ph.D. students and 1,300 international students. Numerous graduates from Beihang have served the country in academic research, industrial sectors, and public affairs.

Beihang is committed to serving the country’s needs and exploring academic frontiers by focusing on cutting-edge science and technology research. In recent years, Beihang has won the national top three science and technology awards over 70 times, including 15 first prizes of national science and technology awards, setting a record of continuously winning the national top science and technology awards among Chinese universities. The per capita scientific research funds provided for the teachers have consistently ranked first among colleges and universities in China. Beihang is a leading university in advanced science and technology research in China.

Beihang University is committed to building solid and sustainable partnerships with institutions around the world. It has launched the UPS Global Engagement Plan, which aims to encourage cooperation globally at three levels: university to university, professor to professor, and student to student. Under the UPS framework, Beihang has established long-term partnerships with over 200 higher education and research institutions and multinational corporations.


Ecole Nationale de l'Aviation Civile (hereinafter referred to as ENAC), founded in Paris in August 1949, is headquartered in Toulouse, the European aerospace industry center. ENAC is a member of the European Union of Aerospace Universities (PEGASUS), a member of Le Groupement des Écoles Aéronautiques (GEA), and a member of the French Association of AeroTech Engineering Schools.

ENAC, a leading specialized aviation university in Europe, is the world's top university with a high international reputation in the field of aeronautics and civil aviation. ENAC, as part of the French Grande Ecole system, provides education in aerospace and civil aviation different from public university education. The university now has 910 full-time staff, more than 1,000 part-time teachers, more than 3,000 full-time/part-time students, and has set up more than 30 degree programs. In addition, ENAC runs more than 650 training programs with about 3,500 admissions annually.

ENAC remains highly active on the international stage. At present, a quarter of its students are international students from more than 50 different countries. ENAC participates in a broad range of international cooperation projects, with partners including the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO), the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA), the Directorate General of Civil Aviation (DGAC), and Airbus Group, THALES, SAFRAN, Egis and Rockwell Collins, ENGIE and other prominent international airlines.